Jim Ranstrom recently took, and passed, the ACC judges test.
Jim only missed one (1) question, but he is curious about the "correct" answer:
Subject: Judges Questionnaire
Date: Sun, 11 May 2008 10:22:25 -0700
Question 21 was; “A player mistakenly pegs from 1st street to 4th street and releases the peg. Upon discovery, the peg on 4th street is placed behind the peg on 1st street. The player loses the count of the current score and also the previous score.
The answer I gave was 8.9 but it was corrected to 8.5.a.1.
I am having a problem with the logic here, and you said you wanted to post it someplace for a reading.
Here's the rule Jim cited:
Rule 8.9. Recording Score in Wrong Track
If a player records an otherwise correct score but places the peg in the wrong track on his or her side of the board or in opponent’s track, it shall be moved to the proper track without penalty.
Here's the rule referenced as being the "correct" answer:
Rule 8.5. Improperly Removing Pegs
a. If a player removes only his or her front peg when a score is not yet pegged, then:
Seems a bit puzzling to me as well. Can any of you help us out with the logic?